top of page
Attention District 10 Democrats!

Be a delegate to the DNC National Convention, August 19 - 22, in Chicago!

Register to run by March 26:

Fill out the online Registration Form


Visit the DPG's Delegate Selection Plan for more info

Who's running in the next election?

 2024 Elections


County offices up for election


Sheriff – David Gabriel

Commission Chairman – Jay Paul

Tax Commissioner – Shelia Arnold

Clerk of Superior Court – Kelli Smith

Magistrate Court Judge – Gail Smith

Probate Judge – Kayla Miller

Coroner – Howard Sanders

Dist 2 Commissioner – Andy Saxon

Dist 4 Commissioner – Will Brown

Dist 1 Board of Education – Guillermo                Camancho

Dist 2 Board of Education – Tim Poole

Dist 4 Board of Education – Jake Wilcox

How We Can Help

The Oglethorpe County Democratic Party has years of experience working with underdogs as well as shoo-in candidates and we are ready to assist you as you craft your campaign.  From the qualifying process and keeping up with important deadlines, to compiling lists of registered voters, recruiting volunteers, designing ads and literature, planning events and raising money, we can help. 

Give us a call or join us at our next meeting –   normally the fourth Thursday of each month at 7 pm at the Oglethorpe County Library.

Candidates for local offices will begin qualifying on Monday, March 4, 2024 at 9:00 a.m. and end at NOON on Friday, March 8, 2024. Qualifying will take place in the Board of Elections office at 41 Fairground Road in Lexington. Call the elections office at 706-743-8954 for additional information.

General Qualifications for Commission/School Board

  • Must be a citizen of this state and resident of the county for at least 12 months prior to election

  • Must be age 21 or older

  • Must be a qualified voter

  • Must reside in the school district where seeking election (does not apply to Commission candidates)

  • School Board candidates must not be employed by or serving on the governing body of any public or private educational institution

Qualifying Fees *

Board of Commissioners - $126.00

Board of Education - $43.20

Commission Chairman - $1927.66

Magistrate Court Judge - $1693.55

Tax Commissioner, Clerk of Superior Court & Probate Judge - $1660.34 each

Sheriff - $1927.66

Coroner - $72.00


*As of December 2023

bottom of page